Highway 26 Corridor Study - Watertown

Highway 26 Corridor Study

Home - Purpose - Meetings - Maps of the Watertown, Jefferson and Milton bypasses
Environmental Impact - Eminent Domain - Contact - Feedback

Watertown alternatives - Segment 3, North Segment

Three alternatives are under consideration for the Watertown area: Alternative N1 west of the city, Alternative N2 east of the city, and one alternative through the city of Watertown on existing alignment, Alternative N3. These alternatives are those presented at the June 1999 public information meetings, with minor refinements.

The North segment begins at Baneck Lane about a mile north of IH 94. Two more lanes are proposed to be added between Baneck Lane and the City of Watertown, primarily on the east side of the existing road.

Alternative N1 is the near-west alternative and would provide a connection to Highways 16 and 19 with an interchange on the north side of the city of Watertown. It provides a four lane rural divided roadway, with an operating speed of least 55 miles per hour, with access at three locations. Interchanges are proposed on the north and south sides of the city of Watertown, and at STH 19. Bndges separating traffic are proposed at CTH Y and CTH A, both railroad crossings and several town roads. An interchange at CTH A is under consideration. One benefit to this alternative is that it connects STH 16, STH 19 and STH 26.

Alternative N2 is the near-east alternative and would utilize the current Highway 16 bypass.  This would require that Highway 16 be improved to a freeway. It provides a four lane rural divided roadway, with an operating speed of at least 55 miles per hour. This altemative would provide interchanges at the south and north edge of the city of Watertown and with STH 16. Bndges separating traffic would be proposed at CTH X and CTH E, the railroad crossing and several town roads. This alternative would coincide with the existing STH 16 bypass, which would be reconstructed to a four lane rural divided roadway and would eliminate all access except at interchanges. Half diamond interchanges with connecting frontage roads would be proposed for CTH R, also known as North Fourth Street, and Oak Hill Road.

Alternative N3 provides for a four lane divided urban street through the city of Watertown on existing alignment. This through-Watertown altemative would provide a posted speed limit of 45 miles per hour. The access would be limited with several signalized intersections, meaning that the operating speed would be approximately 40 miles per hour. This alternative would probably require that buildings on one side of the street or the other be removed. A variation of the through-Watertown alternative that closely follows the Union Pacific Railroad corridor between Bemard Street and Spaulding Street is also being studied. Infommation about this altemative is available today.

North of Watertown, two more lanes are proposed to be added, primarily on the east side, although to avoid relocations, there will be several areas where the new lanes are proposed to be added to the west side. The study ends at the STH 60 east intersection.

Click the map for a larger, more detailed view.

Study Committee

Jeffrey L. Haas
Jefferson County Highway Commissioner
141 West Woolcock Street
Jefferson, WI 53549

Russell Cooper
Jefferson County Highway Department
141 West Woolcock Street
Jefferson, WI 53549

Bruce Haukom
Jefferson County Zoning & Sanitation Administrator
320 South Main Street
Jefferson, WI 53549-1799

Judy Weter
Johnson Creek Village Clerk
125 Depot Street
Johnson Creek, WI 53038

Craig Kunkel
Johnson Creek Village Engineer
Central Engineers
Box 387
Beaver Dam, WI 53916

Donald Reese
Farmington Town Chairperson
N6501 CTH P
Watertown, WI 53094-9583
Vic Imrie, Jr.
Milford Town Chairperson
N7389 CTH A
Johnson Creek, WI 53038-9737

Theodore Ziebell
Milford Town Supervisor
N6852 Ziebell Road
Johnson Creek, WI 53038

Richard Gimler
Watertown Town Chairperson
N8729 River Road
Watertown, WI 53094-9557

George Stuehler
Watertown Town Supervisor
N7370 CTH D
Watertown, WI 53094-9510

Harry Dopke
307 East Main Street
Watertown, WI 53094

Joseph Radocay, P.E.
Watertown City Engineer
106 Jones Street
P.O. Box 477
Watertown, WI 53094

Harvey Radtke
Watertown City Alderperson
1201 North Water Street
Watertown, WI 53098

Bob Krystyniak
1019 Boughton Street
Watertown, WI 53094

Dean Perlick
Dodge County Manager of Planning
107 East Oak Street
Juneau, WI 53039

Chester Caine
Dodge County Board of Supervisors
255 Beaver Dam Street
Lowell, WI 53557

Robert A. Sindelar, P.E.
Dodge County Highway Commissioner
211 East Center Street
Juneau, WI 53039

William Nass
Emmet Town Chairperson
N1566 Highway 16 & 26
Watertown, WI 53098

Carol J. Wollin
Emmet Town Supervisor
N800 Hancock Road
Watertown, WI 53098

John Hanson
Emmet Town Supervisor
N2304 CTH E
Watertown, WI 53098

Neale R. Jones
Shields Town Chairperson
N1323 Wood Road
Watertown, WI 53098

John Liechty
Shields Town Supervisor
N300 Vel Road
Watertown, WI 53098

Dr. Robert Long
Shields Town Supervisor
W8744 CTH Q
Watertown, WI 53098

LeRoy K. Schultz
Clyman Town Chairperson
N3775 Elm Shade Road
Juneau, WI 53039

Greg David
Prairie Dock Farm
N8891 CTH Y
Watertown, WI 53094

Augie Tietz
Watertown Chamber of Commerce
507 South Washington Street
Watertown, WI 53094

Larry Mistele, Chairperson
Watertown Historic Preservation Commission
Watertown City Hall
106 Jones Street
Watertown, WI 53094

Jim Oeth, P.E.
Earth Tech, Inc.
1210 Fourier Drive, Suite 100
Madison, WI 53717
1-800-548-1530, ext. 151

Anne Monks
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Transportation District 1
2101 Wright Street
Madison, WI 53704

Kimberly Johnson, P.E.
Kjohnson Engineers, Inc.
7818 Big Sky Drive Suite 118
Madison, WI 53719

Kate Sullivan
Johnson, Johnson & Roy, Inc.
One North Pinckney Street
Madison, WI 53703

This goJefferson.com Web presentation of these public documents is Copyright 2004 Syndesis Corporation.